Poets and writers, you can win!

Deadline: April 1 Award: up to $2,000 and publication


The 45th Nimrod Literary Awards

Founded by Ruth G. Hardman, The Katherine Anne Porter Prize for Fiction and The Pablo Neruda Prize for Poetry will fly winners to Tulsa from a domestic airport location for the Awards Ceremony and Writing Conference in October or, if global health situations do not allow for an in-person conference, winners will take part in a virtual Awards Ceremony and reading. All finalists in fiction and poetry will be published and paid at our standard publication rate. Semi-finalists in poetry will also be published and paid at our standard publication rate.

Poetry: 3-10 pages of poetry (one long poem or several short poems)

Fiction: 7,500 words maximum (one short story or a self-contained excerpt from a novel)

No previously published works or works accepted for publication elsewhere.  Author’s name must not appear on the manuscript.  Include a cover sheet containing titles, author’s name, full address, phone number, and email.

The Nimrod Literary Awards are open internationally.

Online Submissions: Work may be submitted online using our online submission manager system.

Postal Submissions: “Contest Entry” should be clearly indicated on both the outer envelope and the cover sheet. Manuscripts should be stapled, if possible; if not, please bind with a heavy clip. Manuscripts will not be returned.  Include SASE for results only. If no SASE is sent, no contest results will be sent; however, the results will be posted on Nimrod’s website.

Mail to:
Nimrod International Journal
Literary Contest–Fiction or Poetry (indicate the appropriate category)
The University of Tulsa
800 S. Tucker Dr.
Tulsa, OK 74104

Entry Fee: Each entry must each be accompanied by a $20 fee.  Make checks payable to Nimrod. $20 includes both entry fee & a one-year subscription (two issues). Writers may submit multiple entries, but each entry must include its own $20 fee.

For more information, go to https://artsandsciences.utulsa.edu/nimrod/nimrod-literary-awards/